The Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2018

I have just personally submitted two artworks into The Trinity Buoy Wharf drawing prize. I chose to submit my Biro portrait, ‘Lily’ Pearly Queen of Smithfield’s Market and pencil drawing of ‘Joe’, Brick Lane Flea Market.

It was a hive of activity and very well organised. Van loads of artwork regularly pulling up outside the venue on a very hot Sunday afternoon. A constant stream of artists battling the heat whilst trying to carry their framed artwork under their arms. I thought to myself, wow, there’s thousands of entries into this well respected competition, formally known as the Jerwood Drawing Prize. Apparently the organisers choose only 65 artworks to exhibit and tour, I must have seen at least that amount submitted in the short time that I was there and this is just one submission centre. They are accepting entries from all over the country from Wales to Glasgow!

Of course I have everything crossed for a positive outcome, it would be wonderful to make it through the selection process, to have that feeling of acceptance, of knowing your art practice is liked and understood and most of all SEEN! Discussed, liked or disliked but just seen.

Leave a comment